Overview
A two-year Royal College AFC interventional programme in a 7,800-procedure, 2,400-PCI per year service covering STEMI, complex/CTO PCI, structural intervention and mechanical circulatory support.
The programme
- Focus
- Interventional cardiology
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years
- Start
- 1 July (next intake 1 July 2028; July 2027 positions filled)
- Positions
- 2–4 trainees at a time
- Accreditation
- Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada – Area of Focused Competence (AFC); AFC Diploma eligible
- Department
- Department of Cardiac Sciences, Cumming School of Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Royal College certified or eligible for Royal College cardiology exams (or equivalent); international applicants must show training equivalency (≥8 months clinical cardiology incl. ≥4 months CCU, ≥3 months cath, ≥4 months echo, ≥1 month EP, ≥1 month nuclear/stress)
- International applicants
- Yes – positions available for international applicants; must demonstrate training equivalency and meet CPSA English proficiency requirements
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Educational licence through the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) arranged via PGME after acceptance
How to apply
- Deadline
- Domestic: 31 December 2026; International: 31 March 2027 (for July 2028 start)
- Application method
- Letter of intent, CV, three physician references (institutional email), one allied-health reference, proof of degrees/certification and English proficiency to the Training Committee
Funding
- Funding
- Travel funding for courses and conferences mentioned; salary not stated