Overview
One-year multidisciplinary breast surgical oncology fellowship matching three fellows a year, with over 1,000 breast operations annually at Rochester.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 3 per year
- Accreditation
- Society of Surgical Oncology (SSO) approved breast fellowship
- Department
- Department of Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- ABS or AOBS eligible/certified
- International applicants
- Institution policyGraduates of non-US medical schools eligible if ECFMG-certified before appointment (applicants still obtaining certification may interview but cannot be ranked or appointed) or holding a full unrestricted licence in the programme state; Canadian graduates after 1 July 2025 also need ECFMG certification
- Visa support
- Institution policyMayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education supports ECFMG J-1 and H-1B visas (Mayo selects visa type). Since the Sept 2025 $100,000 H-1B fee, Mayo will not file new H-1B petitions that trigger the fee - H-1B only for change/extension of status (USMLE Steps 1-3 required); otherwise ECFMG J-1 (Steps 1-2, ACGME-accredited/recognised programme). F-1 OPT accepted for first year for US-school graduates
- Licence requirement
- Must be eligible for Minnesota medical licensure
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- SSO Breast Fellowship Match
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyMCSGME resident/fellow stipend (effective 11 March 2026): Graduate Level 1 $75,105; L2 $77,721; L3 $80,936; L4 $85,398; L5 $89,036; L6 $92,376; L7 $95,417; L8 $99,058; L9 $102,594; L10 $106,096
Official sources
https://surgonc.org/fellows/breast-surgical-oncology-fellowship/breast-fellowship-program-list/mayo-clinic/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/admissions-and-benefits/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/admissions-and-benefits/stipend-and-benefits/