Overview
The programme develops perioperative neuroscience skills through neurosurgical anesthesia, neurocritical care and neuroradiology, with increasing case complexity during the year.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months (at least 6 months neurosurgical OR, 1 month neurocritical care, 1 month neuroradiology, electives, up to 3 months research)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Curriculum compliant with SNACC (Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care) training recommendations; ACGME accreditation not stated
- Department
- Neuroanesthesia Division, Department of Anesthesiology, Columbia University Irving Medical Center
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyInternational medical graduates eligible for NYP GME appointment with a valid ECFMG certificate (or a full NY licence); prerequisite training must be ACGME/AOA/RCPSC/CFPC or ACGME-I (Advanced Specialty) accredited, with a GMEC-approved exception route for exceptionally qualified IMGs; J-1 (ECFMG) visa only
- Visa support
- Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian GME accepts foreign nationals only with J-1 (ECFMG) status or their own work authorisation; no H-1B, H-1B1, F-1 or E-3 sponsorship; O-1 supported only in very limited cases (NYP GME Visa Rules, 2027 recruitment packet)
- Licence requirement
- Institution policy (NY State Education Dept): trainees in ACGME-accredited programmes do not need a NY physician licence or limited permit; other (non-ACGME) clinical fellowship posts require a NY licence or limited permit (IMGs need ECFMG certification). NYP reimburses initial licence fee ($735) and renewals
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Review checklist, complete application form and forward all materials to Gina Lee, Education and Project Coordinator (gsl40@cumc.columbia.edu)
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian 2026-27 house-staff salary PGY1 $96,600; PGY2 $107,000; PGY3 $115,700; PGY4 $119,100; PGY5 $123,000; PGY6 $125,200; PGY7 $129,100, plus $7,500 living supplement, $1,000 academic stipend, $2,000 Lyft credit and $2,160 meal stipend
Official sources
https://www.anesthesiology.cuimc.columbia.edu/fellowship-neurosurgical-anesthesiahttps://psychiatry.weill.cornell.edu/sites/default/files/cornell_2027_recruitment_packet.pdfhttps://www.op.nysed.gov/professions/physicians/license-requirements
Dates, positions, funding and visa not stated on page.