Overview
One-year ACGME-accredited dermatopathology fellowship preparing pathology- or dermatology-trained physicians for academic or community practice with graduated responsibility.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Institution policyDuke GME appointments run 1 July - 30 June, with a few exceptions
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited
- Department
- Department of Pathology
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed ACGME dermatology, AP/CP or AP training
- International applicants
- Applicants asked to state current visa status on the application form
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 alien physician status sponsored by ECFMG with Duke's assistance; Duke is H-1B cap-exempt and H-1B is possible for clinical trainees who have passed USMLE Steps 1-3 and hold an ECFMG certificate (individual programmes decide which visas they accept)
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyNorth Carolina full medical licence or Resident Training License (RTL) required before clinical duties
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications for the 2028-2029 fellowship year have closed
- Application method
- Not stated on official page
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyGME trainees paid on the Duke stipend scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) PGY-1 $71,052 rising to PGY-4 $79,908, PGY-5 $82,992, PGY-6 $86,292, PGY-7 $90,036 (up to PGY-12 $106,800), plus benefits
Official sources
https://pathology.duke.edu/education/fellowships/dermatopathology-fellowshiphttps://visaservices.duke.edu/visa-categories/j-1-visa-classification/https://visaservices.duke.edu/visa-categories/h-1b-visa-classification/https://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/employment-requirementshttps://gme.duke.edu/training-programs/applicants/stipends/physician-trainee-stipendshttps://medicine.bulletins.duke.edu/about/graduate