Pediatric Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship

Duke University

AnaesthesiologyPaediatric cardiac anaesthesiaClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Durham, North Carolina, United States

Overview

Advanced training concentrates on perioperative care for children with congenital heart disease across surgery, catheterization and intensive care.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year
Start
Institution policyDuke GME appointments run 1 July - 30 June, with a few exceptions
Positions
1 per year
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
Department of Anesthesiology, Duke University School of Medicine

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Completed an ACGME-accredited pediatric anesthesiology fellowship, or an adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology fellowship including at least one month of pediatric anesthesiology
International applicants
Institution policyYes - graduates of medical schools outside the US/Canada are eligible if they hold a valid ECFMG certificate or a full unrestricted US licence
Visa support
Institution policyJ-1 alien physician status sponsored by ECFMG with Duke's assistance; Duke is H-1B cap-exempt and H-1B is possible for clinical trainees who have passed USMLE Steps 1-3 and hold an ECFMG certificate (individual programmes decide which visas they accept)
Licence requirement
Institution policyNorth Carolina full medical licence or Resident Training License (RTL) required before clinical duties

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Online application linked from the programme page

Funding

Funding
Institution policyGME trainees paid on the Duke stipend scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) PGY-1 $71,052 rising to PGY-4 $79,908, PGY-5 $82,992, PGY-6 $86,292, PGY-7 $90,036 (up to PGY-12 $106,800), plus benefits

Official sources

Educational stipend and laptop mentioned; salary not stated.

Similar programmes

More at Duke University