Hematology & Oncology Fellowship

UCLA Health / David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Haematology & Medical OncologyHematology & oncologyClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Los Angeles, California, United States

Overview

A three-year ACGME-accredited combined haematology and oncology programme with 18 months of clinical service and 18 months of dedicated research, aimed at developing academic leaders.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
3 years (18 months clinical, 18 months research)
Start
Institution policy (UCLA GME): appointments run 1 July to 30 June
Positions
8 fellows per year
Accreditation
ACGME-accredited
Department
Division of Hematology-Oncology, Department of Medicine

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): IMGs eligible with ECFMG certification (USMLE Steps 1-2) or a full California licence; all IMG applicants must be reviewed by the GME office/DIO before an offer and must meet California licensure requirements to continue training
Visa support
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): ECFMG-sponsored clinical J-1 is the preferred visa; H-1B considered only for US LCME/AOA graduates moving from F-1 OPT, trainees already in clinical training on H-1B with enough time left, or physicians of national/international renown (department-funded, case by case)
Licence requirement
Institution policy (UCLA GME): all residents/fellows must comply with Medical Board of California (or Osteopathic Board) licensure requirements - a PTL or full California licence - at appointment and reappointment; non-compliance means non-appointment; fellows from outside institutions must have passed all USMLE/COMLEX steps

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
ERAS (ERAS code 155-05-21-123); NRMP Match; at least four letters including one from programme director

Funding

Funding
Institution policy (UCLA ACGME residents/fellows, CIR-SEIU contract): from 1 Sept 2026 PGY4 $108,102; PGY5 $111,894; PGY6 $115,477; PGY7 $118,801; PGY8 $124,242 (PGY1 $98,466); rising from 1 July 2027 (PGY4 $113,508); plus $8,000/yr Resident Enhancement Fund

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at UCLA Health