Overview
A two-year general ID fellowship centred at four major teaching sites, with optional additional years of basic, translational or clinical research.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 2 years clinical (optional 1-3 additional research years)
- Start
- July 2027
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Internal Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Not stated on official page
- International applicants
- Institution policyYes - IMGs need ECFMG certification; non-US citizens train on ECFMG J-1 (or H-1B where sponsored)
- Visa support
- UT Southwestern accepts permanent residents or ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visas; does not sponsor H-1B.
- Licence requirement
- State requirement: Texas Medical Board Physician-in-Training (PIT) permit for participation in a Board-approved GME/fellowship programme (supervised practice only)
How to apply
- Deadline
- 15 October (ERAS)
- Application method
- ERAS; NRMP Match
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid house-staff stipend (employer varies: UTSW, Parkland, Children's Health or Scottish Rite); 2026-27 scale PGY4 $82,225, PGY5 $86,343, PGY6 $89,505, PGY7 $95,050
Official sources
https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/departments/internal-medicine/divisions/infectious-diseases/fellowship-programs/general/https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/departments/internal-medicine/education-training/residency/salary-benefits.htmlhttps://www.tmb.texas.gov/apply-renew/physician/physician-apply/physician-in-training-permit-applicationhttps://www.utsouthwestern.edu/about-us/administrative-offices/international-affairs/postdocs-clinical-trainees-employees/j1-ecfmg/