Maternal-Fetal Medicine Fellowship

UCLA Health

Obstetrics & GynaecologyMaternal-fetal medicineClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Los Angeles, California, United States

Overview

The UCLA Maternal-Fetal Medicine Fellowship trains exceptional clinicians, researchers and leaders at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center and UCLA Medical Center, Santa Monica.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
3 years (clinical training concentrated in first 18 months)
Start
Institution policy (UCLA GME): appointments run 1 July to 30 June
Positions
Alternates between 2 fellows one year and 1 fellow the following year (from August 2025)
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): IMGs eligible with ECFMG certification (USMLE Steps 1-2) or a full California licence; all IMG applicants must be reviewed by the GME office/DIO before an offer and must meet California licensure requirements to continue training
Visa support
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): ECFMG-sponsored clinical J-1 is the preferred visa; H-1B considered only for US LCME/AOA graduates moving from F-1 OPT, trainees already in clinical training on H-1B with enough time left, or physicians of national/international renown (department-funded, case by case)
Licence requirement
Institution policy (UCLA GME): all residents/fellows must comply with Medical Board of California (or Osteopathic Board) licensure requirements - a PTL or full California licence - at appointment and reappointment; non-compliance means non-appointment; fellows from outside institutions must have passed all USMLE/COMLEX steps

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
At least two letters of recommendation (one from current chief of service)

Funding

Funding
Institution policy (UCLA ACGME residents/fellows, CIR-SEIU contract): from 1 Sept 2026 PGY4 $108,102; PGY5 $111,894; PGY6 $115,477; PGY7 $118,801; PGY8 $124,242 (PGY1 $98,466); rising from 1 July 2027 (PGY4 $113,508); plus $8,000/yr Resident Enhancement Fund

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at UCLA Health