Overview
Multidisciplinary pain training combines outpatient assessment, interventional techniques, acute hospital pain and cancer-related care.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 3 per year
- Accreditation
- ACGME
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed an accredited residency and board eligible in base specialty
- International applicants
- Institution policyGraduates of non-US medical schools eligible if ECFMG-certified before appointment (applicants still obtaining certification may interview but cannot be ranked or appointed) or holding a full unrestricted licence in the programme state; Canadian graduates after 1 July 2025 also need ECFMG certification
- Visa support
- J-1 via ECFMG sponsorship; Mayo Clinic may also sponsor H-1B if all eligibility requirements are met
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyFlorida fellows must hold a full Florida Board of Medicine (or Osteopathic) licence before starting (3-6 months to obtain); residents need Florida registration as an unlicensed physician; Mayo reimburses fees
How to apply
- Deadline
- 15 April of the year preceding programme start
- Application method
- ERAS and NRMP Anesthesiology Fellowship Match (Specialties Matching Service)
Funding
- Funding
- Paid; Mayo Clinic GME stipend by graduate level (effective 11 March 2026: e.g. Graduate Level 5 $89,036/yr); benefits include 20 working days' vacation
Official sources
https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/pain-medicine-fellowship-florida/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/pain-medicine-fellowship-florida/application-process/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/admissions-and-benefits/https://college.mayo.edu/academics/residencies-and-fellowships/orientation/florida/licensure/