Overview
One-year MIS fellowship with ten months on the MIS/bariatric service plus advanced endoscopy and GI motility rotations, focused on training academic leaders.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Surgery, Division of General Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Passed USMLE/COMLEX Steps 1–3; at least 2 years of ACGME (or Canadian) training
- International applicants
- Not eligible — US citizens or permanent residents only (graduates of US, Canadian or foreign medical schools)
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 sponsored by ECFMG (or permanent residence / qualifying EAD); other visas only in very limited circumstances, case by case at Program Director discretion with prospective GME Committee approval
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyState of Michigan medical licence and controlled substance licence (Educational Limited or Permanent) required; permanent-licence holders also need a personal DEA registration
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Not stated on official page
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyhouse officers paid on the UM/HOA scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) HO I $77,049, HO IV $86,670, HO V $90,137, HO VI $93,742, HO VII $97,492 up to HO IX $105,447, plus annual lump-sum savings payment and benefits
Official sources
https://medicine.umich.edu/dept/surgery/surgical-specialties/general-surgery/training/minimally-invasive-surgery-fellowshiphttps://medschool.umich.edu/programs-admissions/residency-fellowship/residency-fellowship-prerequisites-employmenthttps://medschool.umich.edu/programs-admissions/residency-fellowship/residency-fellowship-salary-benefits