Nephrology Clinical Fellowship (UCLA-VA)

UCLA Health / David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

NephrologyGeneral nephrologyClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Los Angeles, California, United States

Overview

The integrated UCLA-VA Nephrology Fellowship provides two years of high-acuity clinical training at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center and VA Greater Los Angeles, with optional advanced research training at PhD or master's level.

The programme

Focus
Nephrology
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
Not stated on official page
Department
Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): IMGs eligible with ECFMG certification (USMLE Steps 1-2) or a full California licence; all IMG applicants must be reviewed by the GME office/DIO before an offer and must meet California licensure requirements to continue training
Visa support
Institution policy (UCLA GME, ACGME programmes): ECFMG-sponsored clinical J-1 is the preferred visa; H-1B considered only for US LCME/AOA graduates moving from F-1 OPT, trainees already in clinical training on H-1B with enough time left, or physicians of national/international renown (department-funded, case by case)
Licence requirement
Institution policy (UCLA GME): all residents/fellows must comply with Medical Board of California (or Osteopathic Board) licensure requirements - a PTL or full California licence - at appointment and reappointment; non-compliance means non-appointment; fellows from outside institutions must have passed all USMLE/COMLEX steps

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Institution policy (UCLA ACGME residents/fellows, CIR-SEIU contract): from 1 Sept 2026 PGY4 $108,102; PGY5 $111,894; PGY6 $115,477; PGY7 $118,801; PGY8 $124,242 (PGY1 $98,466); rising from 1 July 2027 (PGY4 $113,508); plus $8,000/yr Resident Enhancement Fund

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at UCLA Health