Overview
Protected academic development to prepare PhD or postdoctoral fellowship applications, offered through five Scottish primary-care departments.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical + research fellowship
- Duration
- Not stated on official page
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Early-career GPs within 3 years WTE of completing GP training, or GPs nearing/within 1 year of a PhD/MD for the postdoctoral route
- International applicants
- Subject to the advertised UK GP registration and employment conditions
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Confirm GMC and GP registration requirements for the clinical component with the employing host
How to apply
- Deadline
- 2026–2027 round closed on 20 April 2026; next intake expected August 2027, with advertisements usually March/April
- Application method
- Contact the Scottish School of Primary Care for the next round
Funding
- Funding
- Academic time up to 0.8 FTE for early-career or 0.2 FTE for postdoctoral applicants; confirm salary with host