Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

Duke University School of Medicine

Internal MedicinePulmonary & critical careClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Durham, North Carolina, United States

Overview

A three-year combined PCCM fellowship producing physicians prepared for academic careers, with dual-certification eligibility and an optional fourth research year.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
3 years (optional 4th year Physician Investigator track)
Start
Institution policyDuke GME appointments run 1 July - 30 June, with a few exceptions
Positions
5 fellows per year
Accreditation
Not stated on official page
Department
Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine, Department of Medicine

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Institution policyLCME/AOA-accredited MD/DO graduates, or international graduates with a valid ECFMG certificate or full unrestricted US licence; NC full licence or RTL, I-9 employment eligibility, background and NPDB checks
International applicants
Institution policyYes - graduates of medical schools outside the US/Canada are eligible if they hold a valid ECFMG certificate or a full unrestricted US licence
Visa support
Institution policyJ-1 alien physician status sponsored by ECFMG with Duke's assistance; Duke is H-1B cap-exempt and H-1B is possible for clinical trainees who have passed USMLE Steps 1-3 and hold an ECFMG certificate (individual programmes decide which visas they accept)
Licence requirement
Institution policyNorth Carolina full medical licence or Resident Training License (RTL) required before clinical duties

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Institution policyGME trainees paid on the Duke stipend scale; FY27 (from 1 July 2026) PGY-1 $71,052 rising to PGY-4 $79,908, PGY-5 $82,992, PGY-6 $86,292, PGY-7 $90,036 (up to PGY-12 $106,800), plus benefits

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Duke University