Overview
An ACE for anesthesiologists seeking scholarship and management skills to build, direct and innovate regional anesthesia programmes, with an individualised curriculum in practice management, leadership, teaching and research.
The programme
- Training type
- Advanced Clinical Experience
- Duration
- 12–24 months
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 1–2 per year
- Accreditation
- Not ACGME-accredited; Advanced Clinical Experience (ACE)
- Department
- Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine — Division of Regional Anesthesia
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed an ACGME-accredited (or equivalent) anesthesiology residency with a solid foundation in regional anesthesia
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs welcome to apply; must hold a valid ECFMG certificate and be able to obtain Medical Board of California licensure; non-ACGME fellowships need ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition before J-1 sponsorship
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 (ECFMG) is the primary visa; H-1B permitted only in some circumstances with GME approval; O-1 rarely, varies by department
- Licence requirement
- Proof of medical licensure required with application
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- Completed application form, CV, three letters of recommendation, personal statement, medical school diploma and proof of medical licensure
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyPaid on Stanford Health Care housestaff scale 2026-27: PGY4 $113,276.80, PGY5 $119,558.40, PGY6 $124,280.00, PGY7 $130,540.80 (base includes housing allowance)