Trauma, Acute Care Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Emory University School of Medicine

General SurgeryTrauma & acute care surgeryClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Overview

Two-year programme combining an AAST-accredited acute care surgery year and an ACGME-accredited surgical critical care year at Grady Memorial Hospital and Emory.

The programme

Focus
Trauma & acute care surgery / surgical critical care
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years
Start
Institution policyEmory house staff appointments typically cover a 1 July - 30 June academic year (standard start 1 July)
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
AAST (acute care surgery year); ACGME (critical care year)
Department
Emory Department of Surgery

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policyInternational medical graduates eligible if ECFMG-certified and holding J-1 (ECFMG) or H-1B status, or US citizen/permanent resident
Visa support
Institution policyIMGs must be ECFMG-certified and enter training on a J-1 (ECFMG-sponsored) or H-1B visa unless US citizen/green-card holder (Emory GME housestaff policy 5.12)
Licence requirement
Institution policyGeorgia Temporary Postgraduate Training Permit or full Georgia medical licence required before clinical care (training permit max 7 years); USMLE Step 3 required for entry at PGY4+

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Institution policySalaried by Emory GME on uniform PGY scale (1 Jul 2026-30 Jun 2027): PGY4 $81,720; PGY5 $85,455; PGY6 $87,023; PGY7 $88,522; PGY8 $90,831 (PGY1 $71,959)

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Emory University