Overview
University of Alabama at Birmingham's Birmingham programme appears in the Society of Gynecologic Oncology's national participating-program list for advanced multidisciplinary training in gynaecologic cancer care.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Institution policyUAB GME academic year begins 1 July (July-June appointments)
- Positions
- 2 per year
- Accreditation
- Listed by the Society of Gynecologic Oncology; confirm current ACGME status
- Department
- Not stated on official page
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Completed Obstetrics and Gynaecology residency; ERAS, NRMP and institution-specific requirements apply
- International applicants
- Institution policyIMGs eligible with a valid ECFMG certificate (or full unrestricted US licence); immigration status agreed with UAB ISSS before offer
- Visa support
- Institution policyJ-1 (ECFMG) is the recommended route; H-1B (requires USMLE Step 3) decided case by case with UAB ISSS and currently not viable for candidates outside the US because of the H-1B fee uncertainty
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS (3 letters of recommendation, personal statement, CV); interviews by email invitation
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyUAB house staff salary 1 Jul 2026 - 30 Jun 2027: PGY4 $76,326; PGY5 $80,907; PGY6 $83,951; PGY7 $88,104; PGY8 $91,418 (PGY1 $64,890)
Official sources
https://www.uab.edu/medicine/obgyn/?catid=22&id=326&view=articlehttps://www.uab.edu/medicine/home/education/residency-fellowship-programs/application-requirementshttps://www.uab.edu/medicine/home/education/residency-fellowship-programs/salary-benefitshttps://www.uab.edu/medicine/home/images/residents-fellows/gme-policies-procedures-manual.pdf
Page gives no dates, eligibility, positions, visa or salary details.