Overview
Offers trainees more experience across anaesthesia practice, including high-risk procedures, at the adult trauma centre for downtown Toronto.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 6–12 months (full-time or 60–80% reduced workload on request)
- Start
- January or July
- Positions
- 4 per year (2 starting each January, 2 each July)
- Accreditation
- University of Toronto PGME-registered fellowship; does not count towards Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada specialty certification
- Department
- Department of Anesthesia, St. Michael's Hospital / University of Toronto
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- University of Toronto departmental requirements: minimum 30 months of clinical anaesthesia training and all requisite certification exams passed in home country
- International applicants
- Yes — University of Toronto fellowships accept international graduates; English proficiency required where training was not in English
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Not stated on official page
How to apply
- Deadline
- Online form open for 2026–2027
- Application method
- Online application form on the University of Toronto Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine website
Funding
- Funding
- Competitive salary and extended health benefits