Critical Care Anesthesiology Fellowship

UCSF Health

AnaesthesiologyCritical care anaesthesiaClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
San Francisco, California, United States

Overview

ACGME-accredited intensive-care training with multidisciplinary ICU rotations, advanced ultrasound, mechanical ventilation, procedures, teaching and quality improvement.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 year; two-year track for those seeking certification through the American Board of Emergency Medicine; optional second clinical/research year depending on funding
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
Not stated on official page
Accreditation
ACGME
Department
Division of Critical Care Medicine, UCSF Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Completed anaesthesiology or another ACGME-eligible residency pathway; licensing requirements apply
International applicants
Limited
Visa support
Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
Licence requirement
Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)

How to apply

Deadline
1 March of the year before the fellowship start (submission by 1 February encouraged); rolling interviews
Application method
SF Match (common application) plus 3 letters, USMLE/FLEX scores and ITE scores sent to programme coordinator; virtual interviews January-April

Funding

Funding
Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation

Official sources

Page returns 403 to curl; read via text-extraction fetch of the same official URL.

Similar programmes

More at UCSF