Overview
Trains geriatricians or medical oncologists to provide enhanced care of older adults with cancer, with an optional combined geriatric oncology/palliative care track.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year (possible 1-year extension)
- Start
- 1 July (flexible)
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- University of Toronto Department of Medicine clinical fellowship registered with PGME; does not lead to RCPSC certification (UofT PGME page)
- Department
- Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics with Department of Supportive Care, UHN/MSH
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Subspecialty training in geriatric medicine and/or medical oncology (internal medicine, radiation or surgical oncology also considered); fluent in English; eligible for CPSO educational licence
- International applicants
- Outstanding qualified applicants encouraged to apply regardless of current country of residence (programme page)
- Visa support
- PGME Office provides successful sponsored applicants with documentation to apply for a work permit (UofT PGME page); otherwise not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Must be eligible for a CPSO certificate authorizing postgraduate education (educational licence); applicant must be recognized as a specialist in the jurisdiction where they practised (UofT PGME page)
How to apply
- Deadline
- 15 September
- Application method
- CV, three letters of reference and outline of goals to Dr Shabbir Alibhai (shabbir.alibhai@uhn.ca)
Funding
- Funding
- Not stated on official page