Pediatric Ophthalmology & Adult Strabismus Fellowship

Cleveland Clinic Children's / Cole Eye Institute

OphthalmologyPaediatric ophthalmology & strabismusClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
Cleveland, Ohio, United States

Overview

Training in the diagnosis and management of childhood eye diseases and adult strabismus, with extensive exposure to ophthalmic genetics and ROP.

The programme

Focus
Paediatric ophthalmology
Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
1 or 2 years (2-year appointments for academic/research focus)
Start
Not stated on official page
Positions
1 per year
Accreditation
Not stated on official page
Department
Cole Eye Institute

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Institution policyLCME/AOA graduates or IMGs with valid ECFMG certificate; ACGME fellows must have completed specialty prerequisite training (exceptional-candidate route where the RC allows)
International applicants
Institution policyIMGs eligible with a current valid ECFMG certificate; Cleveland Clinic holds ACGME Non-Standard Training recognition so approved non-accredited fellowships can take ECFMG J-1 trainees
Visa support
Institution policyH-1B (requires USMLE Steps 1-3 passed; Step 3 results by 30 April for NRMP programmes) and J-1 (ECFMG); O-1 for fellows case by case; no permanent-residence sponsorship for trainees
Licence requirement
Institution policyPermanent or training medical licence/certificate from the state board where training (State Medical Board of Ohio training certificate for Ohio; Florida Board of Medicine for Florida) required before starting; some advanced/non-accredited fellowships require a permanent licence

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Ophthalmology Fellowship Match (SF Match)

Funding

Funding
Institution policyPaid on Cleveland Clinic trainee scale effective 16 May 2026: grad level 4 $76,889, 5 $80,608, 6 $84,180, 7 $89,204, 8 $90,521

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at Cleveland Clinic