Overview
A three-year ACGME-accredited programme training academic leaders in pediatric pulmonary, cystic fibrosis and sleep medicine.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 3 years
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 1 new trainee per year
- Accreditation
- ACGME-accredited (stated on official page)
- Department
- Department of Pediatrics, UCSF School of Medicine
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- MD from accredited institution; board-eligible/certified by the American Board of Pediatrics
- International applicants
- Page states the fellowship accepts applications from U.S. citizens through ERAS, but also lists an ECFMG status report for international medical graduates - confirm with programme
- Visa support
- Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Not stated on official page
- Application method
- ERAS; review begins August; interviews August-October; NRMP Fall Pediatric Subspecialties match
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation
Official sources
https://pediatrics.ucsf.edu/pulmonary-medicine-educationhttps://meded.ucsf.edu/gme-resident-and-fellow-resource-hub/salary-and-benefitshttps://meded.ucsf.edu/sites/meded.ucsf.edu/files/Housestaff%20Info%20Booklet%2003_19_2026.pdfhttps://surgeryeducation.ucsf.edu/general-surgery-residency-eligibility-recruitment-and-selection-policy