Rheumatology Fellowship

University of California, San Francisco (UCSF)

Internal MedicineRheumatologyClinical Fellowship
Destination
USA
San Francisco, California, United States

Overview

A rheumatology fellowship training leaders in academic and clinical rheumatology, with a two-year clinical track and a three-year research track.

The programme

Training type
Clinical Fellowship
Duration
2 years (clinical track) or 3 years (research track)
Start
Institution policyMost UCSF residents/fellows are appointed for June-August start dates (off-cycle starts possible)
Positions
Approved for 4 positions annually; generally accepts 3–4 first-year fellows
Accreditation
ACGME-accredited
Department
Division of Rheumatology, Department of Medicine

Eligibility and visa

Eligibility
Not stated on official page
International applicants
Institution policyIMGs eligible if their school is in the World Directory/FAIMER and they hold a valid ECFMG certificate at application; non-US citizens need permanent residence, an appropriate visa or DACA
Visa support
Institution policyUCSF sponsors J-1 (ECFMG) and H-1B (incl. OPT) visas; H-1B/OPT require pre-approval by UCSF OGME; non-ACGME fellowships can take J-1 trainees only if ACGME Non-Standard Training (NST) recognised
Licence requirement
Institution policyCalifornia Postgraduate Training Licence (PTL) from the Medical Board of California required (full CA licence needed once accredited-training thresholds are reached)

How to apply

Deadline
Not stated on official page
Application method
Not stated on official page

Funding

Funding
Institution policySalaried on UCSF CIR collective-bargaining scale (rates effective 1 Oct 2025, incl. housing allowance): PGY4 $106,127; PGY5 $109,737; PGY6 $113,149; PGY7 $116,315; PGY8 $121,494; 2026-27 scale under union negotiation

Official sources

Similar programmes

More at UCSF