Overview
A one- or two-year fellowship developing leaders in healthcare simulation science across education, research and patient quality and safety.
The programme
- Focus
- Simulation
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 or 2 years
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Emergency Medicine, Columbia University Irving Medical Center
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- MD or DO; completed EM or paediatrics residency, or a PEM fellowship, before starting
- International applicants
- Institution policyInternational medical graduates eligible for NYP GME appointment with a valid ECFMG certificate (or a full NY licence); prerequisite training must be ACGME/AOA/RCPSC/CFPC or ACGME-I (Advanced Specialty) accredited, with a GMEC-approved exception route for exceptionally qualified IMGs; J-1 (ECFMG) visa only
- Visa support
- Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian GME accepts foreign nationals only with J-1 (ECFMG) status or their own work authorisation; no H-1B, H-1B1, F-1 or E-3 sponsorship; O-1 supported only in very limited cases (NYP GME Visa Rules, 2027 recruitment packet)
- Licence requirement
- Institution policy (NY State Education Dept): trainees in ACGME-accredited programmes do not need a NY physician licence or limited permit; other (non-ACGME) clinical fellowship posts require a NY licence or limited permit (IMGs need ECFMG certification). NYP reimburses initial licence fee ($735) and renewals
How to apply
- Deadline
- Rolling
- Application method
- Email 2–3 letters of reference (one from PD/APD), letter of interest and CV to emd_simfellowship@cumc.columbia.edu
Funding
- Funding
- Institution policyNewYork-Presbyterian 2026-27 house-staff salary PGY1 $96,600; PGY2 $107,000; PGY3 $115,700; PGY4 $119,100; PGY5 $123,000; PGY6 $125,200; PGY7 $129,100, plus $7,500 living supplement, $1,000 academic stipend, $2,000 Lyft credit and $2,160 meal stipend