Overview
Neurocritical care training at The Neuro for specialists from neurology, neurosurgery, anaesthesia, emergency, internal or critical care medicine.
The programme
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 1 year (2-year version also listed)
- Start
- Not stated on official page
- Positions
- 3 to 4 per year (1-year fellowship)
- Accreditation
- McGill PGME fellowship (not RCPSC-accredited; cannot be credited toward national certification)
- Department
- Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery, McGill University
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Board certification (or equivalent) in anaesthesiology, neurology, neurosurgery, EM, IM or critical care, or alternative 15-month IM/EM rotation route; Quebec licence eligibility; ACLS
- International applicants
- IMGs must meet Collège des médecins du Québec requirements
- Visa support
- Not stated on official page
- Licence requirement
- Training card / restricted permit from the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ)
How to apply
- Deadline
- Institution policyMcGill PGME applications for the 2027–2028 academic year open 15 May 2026; deadline 1 September 2026 for the majority of fellowship programmes (programme exceptions on the PGME Key Dates page)
- Application method
- McGill PGME fellowship application with programme application form
Funding
- Funding
- Funding opportunities via The Neuro and CNSF