Overview
A 12-month clinical fellowship in paediatric hand and microvascular surgery at the Melbourne Paediatric Hand Centre, including congenital reconstruction, brachial plexus palsy and microsurgery.
The programme
- Focus
- Paediatric hand and microsurgery
- Training type
- Clinical Fellowship
- Duration
- 12 months
- Start
- Department page now advertises the Hand and Microsurgery fellowship as commencing August 2028
- Positions
- Not stated on official page
- Accreditation
- Not stated on official page
- Department
- Department of Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery
Eligibility and visa
- Eligibility
- Applicants must be qualified plastic surgeons
- International applicants
- Institution policyInternational candidates welcome; they must obtain AHPRA registration (including English-language requirements) and a visa with work rights (RCH may sponsor a 482 TSS visa) before starting
- Visa support
- Institution policyAll RCH employees need Australian citizenship or a visa with work rights; where RCH agrees to sponsor, it engages migration lawyers for a Temporary Skill Shortage (subclass 482) employer-sponsored visa (usually 2-4 years, dependants included); other routes include 417/482 working holiday, 189/190 skilled visas
- Licence requirement
- Institution policyAHPRA (Medical Board of Australia) registration required before starting at RCH; in-principle approval must be finalised by presenting identity documents to Ahpra within 6 weeks of arrival; IMGs must meet AHPRA English-language standards
How to apply
- Deadline
- Applications via RCH Careers closed 30 June 2026 for the August 2027 position
- Application method
- RCH Careers website
Funding
- Funding
- Paid fellowship position